Max Alduca - double bass, Novak Manojlovic - piano & keyboards, 
Phillippa Murphy-Haste - clarinet, Holly Conner - drums & percussion,
Nick Calligeros - trumpet, Sam Gill - alto saxophone


"...[Microfiche's] six members have arrived at their own sophisticated, suspensful and sometimes thrilling ways of combining composition and improvisation, with keen instincts for orchestration."
 - John Shand, Sydney Morning Herald 2019.

Microfiche are a six-piece improvising ensemble, whose music explores minimalist compositional processes to create both long-form and miniature works.

The band formed in early 2015 as a student ensemble at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Under the expert tuition of Phil Slater and Simon Barker, the group initially explored processes found in the music of composers John Cage and Morton Feldman, later reconceptualising those ideas into a body of original material with works contributed by every member of the group.

Microfiche quickly developed an interest in extending their playing beyond the class, and have continued to develop their group approach to composition and improvisation. In December 2015, Microfiche entered the studio to record their eponymous debut recording, documenting the original material they had developed throughout their first year.

From ‘miniatures’ less than a minute long through to durational works of up to twenty minutes, Microfiche presents beautiful original music that takes you on a journey into the detailed and surprising minutiae of sound.